Children Champion Awards Announced

London, 27 March 2011: The News of the World Children’s Champions Awards have announced this years inspirational winners. Now in its eighth consecutive year this heart-warming and prestigious awards ceremony celebrates and recognises some of the UK’s unsung heroes who go the extra mile to make a real difference to the lives of children. Hosted by Davina McCall on 30 March 2011 this years awards are set to be bigger than ever, an extended TV broadcast is scheduled for Sunday 3 April on Sky Living HD at 6.30pm.
Among the celebrities who can’t wait to meet them at this evening of astounding tales of courage and sacrifice are Alexandra Burke, Davina McCall, Simon Cowell, Rio Ferdinand, Barbara Windsor, James Corden, Stacey Soloman, Peter Andre and Andrew “Freddie” Flintoff.
Mum-of- three Davina, who is presenting the big night, said: “I’m an emotional person and I’m never more emotional than when I see people doing amazing, thank-less tasks. It’s great to have the chance to give them a pat on the back and say, ‘We see what you’re doing and thank you.’”

Alexandra Burke, who will be singing, said: “When I was in X Factor we came to these awards and I remember being moved to tears by the stories. It was so humbling. I never imagined one day I’d be up on that stage, I’m going to sing my heart out.”
The big night is being launched by Simon Cowell who said: “The room will be full of celebrity guests who know who the real stars are – the award winners.”

The ceremony follows a four-month search to find the biggest heroes for children. The nomination process started in December and thousands responded with stories of sacrifice and selflessness that reveal Britain at its glorious best.
Judges, including Lord Sebastian Coe, Emma Bunton, and Gary Lineker, picked the final ten. And this Wednesday the ten winners will go to No10 to meet David Cameron before the ceremony. The Prime Minister said: “They’re an inspiration to us all.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *